Square One

IMG_4081

   I cut all my hair off this weekend and it was like a square one moment. I’d been talking about doing it for a long time and this past Friday after work, I finally churned up the guts to go through with the big chop. I walked into a barber shop (yes, a big dude named Mo took clippers to my head) and asked for a cut. I was already rocking a pixie with a tapered back, so there wasn’t that much to take off. But I wanted to get rid of my relaxed hair and start over “au naturel.” The men waiting their turn kept stealing looks at me, probably wondering what the hell I was thinking. Twenty minutes later, I stepped out of there with a baldy that I couldn’t stop touching in disbelief. As I walked home, a light sprinkle started and I rushed to open my umbrella. Then I laughed at myself because, what was I worried about? I had no hair!

I stopped for something to eat and was unable to choose from the wrapped sandwiches at 7-Eleven, the melty flatbread snacks at Dunkin’ Donuts, or the burgers and fries at Burger King. I walked three blocks out of my way looking for something that would complement the freshness of my shorn head. I found a fish shack along the highway and chose a grilled salmon and sweet plantain combo that fit the bill. My new hairdo did something to renew my dedication to health. Though it’s been six years since I was first diagnosed, it feels like I’m at a new starting point when it comes to dealing with MS. I’m calling my neurologist tomorrow to make an appointment. It’s been too long since he’s seen me.

And I’m gonna ask him if he likes my hair!

